Register Here    Login  
Main Menu

SmartSection is developed by The SmartFactory (, a division of INBOX Solutions (
2007-2008 Season > General League News > Modern D Smith Cup Winners
Modern D Smith Cup Winners
Modern D Smith Cup Winners
The Modern D team of Nathan Forbes, Suky Sehmbi and James Coleman with an 81 point advantage took on the St Neots A team of Shaun Murray, Simon Le Provost and Daniel Fielding.

The first match was the improving Forbes against Le Provost and the first two sets went to Forbes 11-10, 11-4 before Le Provost made a recovery to take the next two 11-9, 11-6. Murray pulled back that advantage by only conceding 18 points against Sehmbi in the next match. Coleman kept a tight grip on the match with an 11-8, 8-11, 10-11, 7-11 result against Fielding and Sehmbi managing an 11-5 third set win against Le Provost kept Modern's hopes alive. Forbes was in form against Fielding putting the pressure on St Neots with an 11-7, 11-7, 11-10, 9-11 result. Murray put in a captain's performance putting St Neots back in with a chance by comfortably beating Coleman 11-4, 11-4, 11-3, 11-5. Sehmbi responded well against Fielding limiting any damage with an 11-9, 5-11, 9-11, 8-11 scoreline.

The match score now stood at 297 points to Modern and 279 points to St Neots with two matches still to play. It was Coleman who probably edged Modern towards getting their grip on the trophy with a 10-11, 11-6, 11-9, 11-4 result taking 13 points off Le Provost and setting up a 31 point advantage for the last match.

With Forbes only requiring 14 points from 4 sets the match looked sewn up but Murray once again stepped up to the Captain's job and took the first set 11-1, Forbes steadied his game to get 7 points in the next set. So 6 points to Modern would secure the trophy and Forbes showed how he could handle the pressure winning the next two sets 11-9, 11-10 for a 20 point win.

Thanks to Bedford Modern for the use of their facilities for the final and to Richard Lake for organising this year's competition and setting the handicaps for some very closely competed matches.
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

Navigate through the articles
Modern D Smith Cup Winners Next article
The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.


Copyright 2009 by BDTTL  |  Powered by XOOPS 2.0 2001-2011 The XOOPS Project  |  Design by