Register Here    Login  
Main Menu


Lost Password?

Register now!
John Alsop
Visit Our Advertisers
Other Site Links
Follow BDTTL On Twitter
Like BDTTL On Facebook
Facebook BDTTL Friends

BDTTL League & General Table Tennis News
An 8-2 win for Elstow and a 7-3 for Revolution A in this week's opening matches saw the two teams draw level at the top of the table on 46 points. Elstow hosted Biggleswade who could only field two players and Colin Luscombe beat both Richard Steele and Tim Bliss. In a repeat of the County Men's Singles final from last season Richard turned the tables and beat Tom Nowakowski in another epic five set match to inflict only a second defeat of the season on the Elstow player. Richard also beat Dave Beddall in straight sets. St Neots B were the visitors to Revolution and Zach Martillo bagged a brace beating Henry Simmons and Martin Walters. John Alsop secured his hat-trick for the hosts and St Neots picked up its third point when John Mitchell and Dan Bullen beat Simmons and Alsop in the doubles. Marston's Mike Wilkins picked up a hat-trick in the home game against St Neots A. Richard Bellamy, Dave Bridger and Rob Adamson all bagged a brace for the away team. Gerald Ridgway battled all the way against Dave losing 11-6 in the deciding set. Bridger and Adamson wrapped up the 7-3 victory for St Neots beating Ridgway and Duncan in the doubles. This week's final match saw Phoenix A beat Revolution B 7-3 with a hat-trick for Graham Green, a brace for Mark Conway and a singles win for Tim Kirby against Trevor Beard. Tim also took Ian Baldock and Mike Perry all the way with narrow defeats in the deciding set as did Trevor in his game against Graham. Mike picked up an excellent singles win beating Mark 3-1. The result was secured with a doubles victory for Green and Conway against Perry and Baldock.

Report by Dave Beddall
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

This is a reminder that your team needs to apply to the organiser in order to enter the Smith Cup competition. The organiser is Dave Beddall whose contact details can be found on the website or in the handbook.
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

The handbook has been distributed to all but two clubs this week, the remaining two clubs will get their copies at the weekend. My apologies that this has taken so long this year but we have now secured the services of a larger printer so hopefully this will not happen again next year. Additional score cards will be distributed in the next few weeks.

John Alsop
General Secretary
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

The 2016-17 handbook is now available to be downloaded by clicking on this article's title.
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

(Revolution C: Martin Walters, Trevor Beard, Josh Hallam)

(Phoenix C: Alan Walden, John Craddock, Mick Buckhurst)

The finals of the Smith Cup and Plate handicapped competition took place at Elstow TTC on Monday 18th April.

The final of the Cup competition was between Division 3 sides Revolution C and Phoenix C, with bottom team Phoenix C having a 24 point start. The Revolution side of Martin Walters, Trevor Beard and Josh Hallam came out very strongly in the first few games and had soon eradicated the handicap difference. The Phoenix team of Alan Walden, John Craddock and Mick Buckhurst came back with some strong performances but were not quite able to find the superb form that had got them into the final. Revolution C won the match by 23 points.

(Southill C: Philip Smith, Steve Dance, Russell Nicholson)

(Bedford CTTC C: Harve Swamynathan, Pete Wood, Tim Kirby)

The Plate final was between this season’s Division 4 winners, Southill D, and the Division 3 team Bedford Community C. The Bedford Community team of Tim Kirby, Harve Swamynathan and Pete Wood had a 45 handicap start and defended this lead well in the first 16 games of the match. In the later stages, the experienced Southill side of Philip Smith, Russell Nicholson and Steve Dance began to claw back the deficit and with 8 games to go had drawn level, eventually winning by 33 points.

Congratulations must go to all the teams that reached the later stages of this year’s competition and to the eventual winners. Thank you to all the teams that took part, and thank you to Elstow Table Tennis Club for hosting the semi-finals and finals again this year.
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

After fifty five years of trying, the 1st Kempston Co. the Boys Brigade finally won the Boys Brigade National Table Tennis Championship in Belfast last weekend. Table tennis is one of ten national competitions run in the UK by the Boys Brigade. To reach the finals the Boys had defeated teams from North Suffolk, Croydon, Bedford, Reading and Southampton. In the finals Kempston faced two teams from Scotland, two from Ireland plus another English team. The boy’s team comprised Edward Simms, Oliver Horswell and Sas Ambepitiya who all play in the Bedford and District League.

Kempston won their group matches against Port Glasgow 8-1 and Cookstown (Ireland) 9 - 0. In the semi-finals they played Lanchester (County Durham) who they narrowly beat in last year’s semi-final. This year it was even tighter with Ed Simms in the pivotal game 2 sets and 6 -4 down in the 3rd set before coming back to win the last three sets 12-10, 11-8 and 12-10. In the finals they beat Grangemouth 6 – 3 but again some very close matches.

It was a great weekend with some wonderful table tennis all played in a great spirit.

Alan Thompson
  View this article in PDF format Print article Send article

Competition Winners
2009/10 Plate Winnners - Marston

2009/10 Plate Winnners - Marston

National Champions - Andy Trott (L.) & Chris Bartram (R.)

National Champions - Andy Trott (L.) & Chris Bartram (R.)

Recent News
Gallery Photo


Copyright 2009 by BDTTL  |  Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2011 The XOOPS Project  |  Design by